funkydanax.blogg.se

Sonnet format
Sonnet format













sonnet format sonnet format
  1. Sonnet format for free#
  2. Sonnet format license#

I think that you should start with the structured poems first, and then go for free form later on. I won’t kid you however most amateur poets are likely to shun this poetic device, viewing it as too restrictive. I think in either case it deserves its classification as a sonnet. Sometimes the stanzas are split in two or the whole stanza will consist of fourteen lines. Not all of them will have three stanzas consisting of four lines and a fourth stanzas consisting of two lines. The variations I’ve seen have more to do with what part of the line will rhyme and how the lines are lumped together. I prefer poems that I can understand, rhyme or no rhyme, structure or free form.įebruary 12, - Most of the modern sonnet examples I’ve seen do try to stay close to the strictest definition of this art form.

Sonnet format license#

What responsibility does the poet have in providing clarity in his poem? I suppose that if your name is Auden you have greater artistic license in that sense. The article is right that there is no rhyme, but the content itself is very ambiguous and open to a lot of interpretation. It’s a matter of debate whether you can really know what the author meant to say.įebruary 12, - Well I’ve read “The Secret Agent,” and that sonnet is way out there in my opinion. You can read into it what you want I suppose. Cummings, and his stuff leans towards the transcendental and philosophical, quite clearly. I’ve read and enjoyed the sonnets of E.E. February 12, - If the whole point of some sonnet poems is to break the rules then I guess I can understand the ambiguity and abstractions.















Sonnet format